The moon is talking to me again

Written in

by

The moon is talking to me again.
She says she wants me to come see her.
I said I still have things I need to do.
“Will you wait for me until then?”

The stars are calling me by name.
I look up and they blind me until I see nothing.
They say if I don’t come soon, they’ll leave.
But everyone leaves and it’s all the same.

The night is showing me a vision.
It’s cold and lonely, insidious and desolate.
She says this awaits me if I don’t go.
I guess emptiness is my new religion.

The dawn is lending me light.
But it’s a little too far and I am exhausted.
I hear her whispers, encouraging me to go.
This is all wrong, nothing feels right.

The morning brings me to tears.
He comforts me but I don’t want it.
I say I want to go but he won’t let me.
I can’t, I can’t, I can’t live with my fears.

The dusk welcomes me back.
He says she’s coming and she’s been waiting.
I take a deep breath and get ready.
My heart is broken and my mind is black.

The moon is talking to me again.
She says, “Are you coming? It’s time.”
I reply, “My love, I’ll be there soon.”
Tonight I say goodbye, this is the end.

Categories

Leave a comment

Hi, I’m Marts. Writer. Lover. Tetris queen. Skyrim assassin. Wrestling fan. Beginner knife flipper and knitter. Halloween enthusiast. Toastmaster. LGBTQ+ advocate and educator. She/They.